What are the rules when you scratch in pool?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What does it mean when you scratch in pool?
The Definition of A Scratch In Pool
A scratch is broadly defined as a cue ball driven off the table or pocketed. For most of the game, these actions are considered standard fouls and result in ball-in-hand for the opponent either on the entire table or behind the head string.
What happens when you scratch 8 ball pool?
If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a re- rack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the headstring.
Is hitting the 8 ball a scratch?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Failure to meet these requirements is a foul. It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Can you combo the 8 ball to win?
Combination shots are legal shots, but you can never use the 8-ball as the first contacted ball. In other words, you can use the 8-ball in combination with another object ball to pocket an object ball, as long as you don’t strike the 8-ball first.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Assuming that you have not committed a standard foul otherwise, sinking the opponent’s ball is not a foul in itself, so my interpretation of it is that you can continue with the game as you would have normally. … The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.