What is considered a scratch in pool?
The Definition of A Scratch In Pool
A scratch is broadly defined as a cue ball driven off the table or pocketed. For most of the game, these actions are considered standard fouls and result in ball-in-hand for the opponent either on the entire table or behind the head string.
What is a scratch in 8 ball pool?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
What happens if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
What happens when you scratch in straight pool?
If the starting player scratches on a legal opening break, he is charged with a foul and assessed a one point penalty, which applies toward the “Successive Fouls Penalties.” The incoming player is awarded cue ball in hand behind the head string, with object balls in position.
What happens after a scratch in pool?
5. A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Can you purposely scratch in pool?
Most people here would call an “intentional miss” playing a safe and it is always acceptable and requires often as much or more skill than pocketing a ball. In the straight pool example: if there’s a scratch and you don’t take it behind the line, it’s treated as an intentional (unsportsmanlike) foul.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
Ball-in-hand means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of a scratch on the break which results in ball-in-hand behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all of your category of balls have been pocketed).
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Failure to meet these requirements is a foul. It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Assuming that you have not committed a standard foul otherwise, sinking the opponent’s ball is not a foul in itself, so my interpretation of it is that you can continue with the game as you would have normally. … The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.
What are the rules for straight pool?
In straight pool, the player may attempt to pocket any object ball on the table regardless of number or color (unlike both eight-ball and nine-ball), until one object ball and the cue ball remain, at which point the other fourteen balls are re-racked and play resumes with the objective being to pocket the remaining …
What are the rules to pool?
The game begins with the cue ball in hand behind the head string. Any ball can be hit first by the cue ball. Either a ball must be pocketed or the cue ball and at least two additional balls must touch a rail. The failure to accomplish one of these two options results in a foul.